Hello world!

Hi, people!  After several trials and tribulations I’m starting a new blog here at wordpress.com.  I’m accustomed to hosting my own blog on my own server (I did this for about five years) but, frankly, I just can’t afford such luxuries these days.  So here I am, and do I have stories to tell.  Telling stories is second only to hearing other people’s stories — I’m lucky in that people tend to trust me and eventually they will spill their guts to me.

Right now I’m sitting in my old friend Myrlene’s living room.  I finally left my building in Hannibal’s ‘hood and began renting a room from Myrlene.  I used to work with Myrlene at the BP station.  She has two teen-aged daughters and she also babysits little kids, so things tend to be rather noisy and chaotic around here.  It’s been a good change for me after living by myself for the past few years.

Now I need to propagate the new URL of this freshly-minted blog to friends, relatives, and to the select group of sympathetic and like-minded folks who once read my old blog.

I have some good stories about my two stints in the Marion County jail and my encounters with various fringe characters in the Hannibal area.  Why fringe characters?  Why not write about well-adjusted mainstream citizens?  It’s just my peculiar bent — everyone has a story and I tend to gravitate to the stories which too often are never told.

Stay tuned!

Larry

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Leslie

    Hey, Larry, it’s great to see you blogging again. I missed you – it was like you dropped off the face of the earth this winter/spring. Welcome back!

  3. karen

    Where can I locate your earlier stories? Why San Fran? What happened after you left CA until now??????

  4. Good question, Karen! This blog, in various incarnations, has been around for about five years, but unfortunately I’ve never been good at making regular backups. Two hard disk failures and a stolen computer (which I may be able to recover, as I know who has it) have rendered my earlier thousand-plus posts and many photographs unavailable for the time being.

    My most prolific and faithful commenter is a woman I’ve never met named Joan Ryan. She saved some of my Hannibal-period posts (printed out) and photos (on CD and USB thumb-drive.) I could loan this material to you if you are interested; let me know. Joan has also contributed many humorous poems to the blog over the years.

Leave a Reply

