A Spring Evening Walk

The weather’s just so nice these days; in the Midwest, you need to take advantage of such days, as severe weather, whether too hot, too cold, or too wet is the norm. Normally around here we have perhaps two weeks every year of pleasant weather, the reason so many people born here end up in California, Washington, or Oregon.

I was out walking this evening — such evenings bring to mind the quote from Henry Thoreau’s journal: “I imbibe delight from every pore.”

Here are a couple of photos from my walk. The first one is of a plant which has taken advantage of pavement cracks:

<

Then there was a cool back-lit scene of some sort of wheat-like grass surrounding a brick sidewalk. I like the brick sidewalks in this town, which most often feature a herringbone pattern:

I hope you have had a nice evening as well!

Larry

2 Comments

Filed under General and Local, Quincy

2 responses to “A Spring Evening Walk

  1. Joan

    Thanks for the artist shots of mundane things most of us don’t notice (or try to kill if we do) Gosh! The bricks and green stuff pic was so fab that I wondered just what kind of shrub they used. Then I re-read the post, and on closer inspection it seems it’s grass. Maybe I should just let my curb grass grow. 🙂
    BTW I am just guessing that someone who owned the house at one time put in those herringbone pattern bricks. I can’t see the city doing that. Have you ever done a brick sidewalk or patio? I had hard enough time laying the foundation of my lawn shed with those large patio blocks. (pant pant)
    I also am fascinated with pictures of degraded paving, which has allowed little green things to encroach. Something there is that does not like a paved space. Maybe I should start trying to identify those thingies. I’ll bet I’ve grown at least 25 different varieties of weeds in the cracks of the driveway and sidewalk over the years.

  2. Hi, Joan. I think the city, back in the days of yore, did install those undulating herringbone sidewalks — they are prevalent in the older neighborhoods here in Quincy. The undulation is a result of tree-roots incessantly doing their thing, probing for food and moisture.

    Identifying plants is great fun. The trick is to notice when they are in bloom, as flowers are the basis of plant classification. I recommend Peterson’s field guide. My copy is about worn out!

Leave a Reply

