Chicken-House Frame-Raising

Towards the end of April I was at Paul and Sam’s place about a mile outside of Hannibal. I had been invited to help erect a pine timber-frame structure which is intended to be a rather elaborate chicken-house. I don’t think the chickens will really appreciate it, frankly, but at least they will be out of the garage where they have been living.

I really didn’t help much, as there were six or so guys working on the project when I got there. I took photos and talked with the official documenter of the occasion, a daughter of one the friends who was helping. She’s sixteen years old and wants to be a reporter and writer for the Quincy Herald-Whig newspaper. She wants to go to MSU in Columbia, MO and take their highly-regarded journalism course. She lives in Hannibal with her father but disdains the Hannibal newspaper; it does suck, I freely admit. That’s Duane standing next to her; he’s a guitarist I’ve played with off and on over the years:

It was quite an interesting process to watch. It was the first time I have ever seen a gin-pole being used; a gin-pole is a two-legged triangular structure used to hoist heavy items with the help of a block-and-tackle. A gin-pole is effective, but they aren’t seen much these days due to the advent of hydraulic power equipment. Gin-poles can be dangerous to their users — “Oh, no, it’s slipping! Heads up!”

Some more photos from the occasion:

That’s Paul, whose chickens will presumably one of these days live in the structure.

A cross-beam or girt being lowered onto a rebar pin:

The whole crew, after the frame had been successfully erected. Time to eat some spaghetti!

I got a kick out of witnessing this construction process; a group of friends making a structure come to life.

Larry

5 Comments

Filed under Hannibal

5 responses to “Chicken-House Frame-Raising

  1. Joan

    Impressed with Paul’s new chicken house
    It really looks so keen
    With rustic tree construction .
    Could this all be post and beam?

    I like the block and tackle bit.
    With help of friends and kin
    Apparently there is no need
    To let the Amish in.

    When done, I’d tell the chickens
    Hey! It’s time to hit the road.
    Your place now looks so great
    I’m moving in to your abode.

  2. There was some friendly joshing between some of the members of the crew and Paul, comments like, “You are going to all this trouble for chickens? How about an apartment upstairs where an actual person could live, and let the chickens do their thing downstairs?”

    Someone else said, “But the smell might be overpowering…”

  3. Leslie

    I always enjoy Joan’s poetry. Larry – I’ve so enjoyed your articles and musical offerings – I rarely read them on a real PC anymore – for some reason my Ipad doesn’t have the comments link. So thought while I could I’d comment!

Leave a Reply

