More Thoughts About The Beatles

“Penny Lane” is a great example of how the Beatles integrated British post-war dance-hall music with American musical influences:

An even better example is this:

The Beatles during that era were a great example of musicians coming together and creating art.

I actually had something similar to this happen to me last year:

When I was living in Hannibal last year there was a crack-addict woman who frequently visited me. She was just so beautiful, a complex hybrid mix of Asian, American Indian, African-American, and Caucasian. I once told her that she was one of the three prettiest women in Hannibal. She had a boyfriend who was suspicious of me and he would cruise by my building looking for her car. J. would park a couple of blocks away on Spruce St. and I’d pick her up there and later take her back to her car. My sleep patterns were perturbed at the time; she couldn’t rouse me by banging on the door one morning, so she climbed through a window and woke me up.

Larry

5 Comments

Filed under Hannibal, Music

5 responses to “More Thoughts About The Beatles

  1. Joan

    Even after looking up the written lyrics of this song, I still haven’t got a clue what it means. Thankfully the other Beatles songs were not as obtuse. You never mentioned what so motivated her that she came through your window either.

  2. Well, I don’t tell all. It wasn’t sex, though. I think J. just liked a calm place to hang out, and I’m a good listener. I also loaned her books to read, and she was good about returning them. Did she read them? I don’t really know. She didn’t ever discuss them with me; perhaps she was trying to impress me somehow…

  3. I looked up the lyrics too;

    She came in through the bathroom window
    Protected by a silver spoon
    But now she sucks her thumb and wanders
    By the banks of her own lagoon

    Didn’t anybody tell her?
    Didn’t anybody see?
    Sunday’s on the phone to Monday,
    Tuesday’s on the phone to me

    She said she’d always been a dancer
    She worked at 15 clubs a day
    And though she thought I knew the answer
    Well I knew but I could not say.

    And so I quit the police department
    And got myself a steady job
    And though she tried her best to help me
    She could steal but she could not rob.

    Didn’t anybody tell her?
    Didn’t anybody see?
    Sunday’s on the phone to Monday,
    Tuesday’s on the phone to me
    Oh yeah.

    My interpretation is that these lyrics are a poetic and metaphorical description of a girl’s descent into perhaps drug-induced insanity. (I’m thinking it may have been Linda Eastman)

  4. Joan

    Well, that’s as good a guess as any. Sounds like the Beatles were not very on-key either when they wrote it . (grin)

  5. Mark

    Always better to have a woman coming in the window than have a man going out.

Leave a Reply

