A Couple More Classic Grateful Dead Songs

The lyrics, by Robert Hunter, for the latter tune, Ripple:

If my words did glow, with the gold of sunshine
And my tunes were played on the harp unstrung,
Would you hear my voice come thru the music,
Would you hold it near as it were your own?

It’s a hand-me-down, the thoughts are broken,
Perhaps they’re better left unsung.
I don’t know, don’t really care
Let there be songs to fill the air.

Ripple in still water,
When there is no pebble tossed,
Nor wind to blow.

Reach out your hand if your cup be empty,
If your cup is full may it be again,
Let it be known there is a fountain,
That was not made by the hands of men.

There is a road, no simple highway,
Between the dawn and the dark of night,
And if you go no one may follow,
That path is for your steps alone.

Ripple in still water,
When there is no pebble tossed,
Nor wind to blow.

You who choose to lead must follow
But if you fall you fall alone,
If you should stand then who’s to guide you?
If I knew the way I would take you home.

La dee da da da, la da da da da, da da da, da da, da da da da da
La da da da, la da da, da da, la da da da, la da, da da.

Larry

7 Comments

Filed under Music

7 responses to “A Couple More Classic Grateful Dead Songs

  1. Larry,

    Do you recall “Bleecker Street” on station KAAY out of Little Rock? After I came back from the USAF in 1971, it was a treat to the senses. It was, I later discovered, the only AM “head” rock program between the coasts. Because it was on AM it started to come in loud and clear in the post midnight hours. The Dead were a staple of the “Street”.

  2. Yeah, I used to love that late-night show. After my parents were asleep I’d come downstairs and listen to the show on headphones.

  3. And before there was Bleeker Street (i.e in the late 50’s) there was Dick Biondi – “the Wild ItRalian – on WLS out of Chicago. Again on an AM station, so only good after 10:30 or so. Guess Dick was the “Wolfman Jack” of the upper midwest. I used to cruise around Hannibal alone some evenings in Dad’s ’55 Chevy 210 (green and white BTW) listening to Dick’s golden age rock ‘n roll. Hannibal DJ’s on KHMO were reluctant to play anything much later than “swing” . . and Quincy wasn’t much better . . mebbe worse even. KHMO had an ostensibly “hip” High Schooler (class of ’59) DJ named Larry Griffith; and one night he started to play a new release from Roy Orbison, only to rip the needle off the disc about 15 seconds into the song . . . and disdainfully denounce the future golden hit as “trash” that he “wouldn’t play on his show!” I suppressed a wave of bitter thoughts and waited a few more hours until the piercing voice of the ItRalian came out of night radio waves. But then eventually I decided I was the only rock ‘n roller in Hannibal. It was lonely, but stimulating, to be the only teenage rebel in town.

  4. Well, Hannibal is still a small town. How many teenage rebels can a little town support? I had to leave Hannibal once the Powers That Be came to dislike me…

  5. Exiled from Hannibal, eh? But they were just beginning to get acquainted with your presence!
    Actually never thought of myself as a “rebel” (they tend to be conformists anyway) – but rather as a misfit. My Mom used to say that Hannibal was getting rid of its own future by forcing so many kids out.
    As for the”Powers”, guess you can call ’em out now that you are safely out of reach.

  6. Mark

    Larry, you might be interested in this. http://www.tristudios.com/about
    Bob Weir bought what had been a rehearsal facility a half block from my studio. A friend of mine has worked with him there and tells me it is pretty incredible.

  7. Thanks, Mark; I enjoyed seeiing and hearing that.

Leave a Reply

