A Capella Country

I’m not a singer, but I can imagine what a challenge it must be to sing effectively without some sort of rhythmic backup. An innate sense of rhythm and a lot of self confidence would be necessary, I would think. I think this young girl did a fine job once she had taken the gum out of her mouth. Here’s Jolene McNulty:

By the way, towards the end of the clip Jolene points to a link to another song, one she likes. I’m not a big country music fan, but the linked song is a really fine rural story song, and the lyrics are shown on the screen.

And here she parodies the folk song “Little Liza Jane:

Larry

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “A Capella Country

  1. Joan

    I found the following s review by ‘PretentiousAsHell’ (grin) on Metafiler. It was followed by a lot of negative comments pertaining to this guys opinion that he liked her. I listened to other videos by her. Personally I liked her. She’s got a powerful voice, she’s singing without accompaniment and she’s actually on key. she’s writing these things herself, which is pretty impressive, whether they are parodies of Country Western or sincere, is hard to tell since Country Western pretty much parodies itself. The gum is pretty much her signature shtick as she seems to use it in every video. She has pretty good stage presence for a kid sitting in her bedroom. I think she’s going to catch on. Now, bear in mind that the only blue-grassy or Country music I own is from the movie ‘OH Brother Where Art Thou’ and the more recent soundtrack from ‘Winter’s Bone.’ So I’m not any expert.
    Here’s the review:
    16 year old sings about killing her husband [dlyt]
    July 24, 2011 9:37 PM
    I’ve never been a fan of country music, but two weeks ago, I came across this song by 16 year old Jolene McNulty. She looks younger than 16, but she may be a bit more worldly than she appears. I was totally captivated by her voice and her theatrical style and (for a kid) the cleverness of her song-writing. When I saw the video two weeks ago, it had 60 views. Last week it was about 5,000. As of today it’s at 13,000. It’s going to be interesting to see where she goes with this.
    posted by PretentiousAsHell

  2. Speaking of a capella (well, not quite) try Gregorian: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hZ3NZMb34_I

Leave a Reply

