Last Day of August (Photos)

This morning I brought my mystery aroid plant inside where there is no breeze and took some tripod shots. I think it’s a calla or a close relative. The blossom is ever-so-gradually unfurling; I assume the floral structures are the pistils, but where are the stamens?

A closer crop, a bit grainy but it shows the otherworldly sexuality of the flower:

My kitchen windows face north and west, so the morning light is soft and diffuse. I happened to notice a pair of tomatillos on top of my refrigerator proudly displaying their split papery husks in the morning light:

I mentally kick myself because I forgot to plant any tomatillos this year. They are so easy to grow and they are an essential ingredient in Mexican green sauces. You don’t even need a recipe; a simple salsa is just a pair of tomatillos roasted in the oven along with some chile peppers; the last time I made green sauce I used an Anaheim and a pair of Serrano peppers. Roast at 375 degrees until the tomatillos are soft and the peppers are charred. Rub the charred skins from the peppers and the husk and stem-end from the mushy tomatillos. Put these vegetables in a food processor along with some garlic, maybe some onion, chopped cilantro or flat-leaf parsley to taste, and a bit of salt, black pepper, and cumin. Chill and serve with bread, tortillas, or chips.

I like the Latin/Mayan taxonomic name of the tomatillo: Physalis ixocarpa.

Larry

5 Comments

Filed under Food, Photos, Plants

5 responses to “Last Day of August (Photos)

  1. bev

    Beautiful photos. The lily looks like Spatiphyllum wallisii to me. Interesting things about tomatillos. A number of years ago, I got some tomatillo seeds from Salt Spring Seeds in B.C. A good many of their seeds are Ones that various people have saved – usually seed that has been passed down from friends and family for years. The tomatillo seeds were for a plant that was supposed to be particularly prolific and it was. Also large, like a huge bush. There were so many tomatillos that it was impossible to keep up with them. Come autumn, I threw the plants with the remaining tomatillos onto the compost heap. The next summer, there were volunteer tomatillo plants growing all over the place – about twice as many as I’d grown the year before. I should have kept some seed, but events of my life have been such that I lost a lot of favourite plants, seeds and such over the past few years.

  2. Yeah, tomatillos volunteer easily, and as so often happens when something grows without effort, it’s easy to neglect and ignore them.

    I’ve also lost quite a few seeds and plants over the years. Sometimes in times of travail the seeds are the last thing you think of!

  3. Bev, I think you are right about the identity of my aroid. Peace Lily and White Sails are two common names. Thanks for the name!

  4. Joan

    Your pictures just get better and better! I love these! Have seen quite a few peace lilies but not in this arty fashion. I Have never heard of a tomatillo. (and neither has my spell checker, evidently) But those pictures are great. They look like green tomatoes with earmuffs.

  5. “…with earmuffs.” Oh, no, now I’ll always be seeing tomatillos as little gnomish heads!

Leave a Reply

