Roadside Llama

A quick post for this morning — I need to take off for the gravel roads soon.

Yesterday I was driving by a farm driveway when I saw a pair of llamas which had been tethered by the side of the road. I enjoyed seeing them, as I don’t often encounter herbivorous South American mammals along the road. The last one I saw was a saddled capybara being ridden by a straw-hatted young boy — or was that in a dream I had?

Llamas are pretty animals; they always seem calm and contemplative to me.

After ignoring me for a few minutes one of the dignified animals deigned to look my way:

Later I met a small herd of friendly Alpine goats, but I have yet to photograph them. Stay tuned!

Larry

7 Comments

Filed under Photos, Quincy

7 responses to “Roadside Llama

  1. bev

    I love llama and alpaca. Years ago, I was in charge of an agriculture education event at a regional fall fair. We had borrowed a llama for a display on animal fiber. Some teenagers stopped at the pen and laughed and made mocking sounds at the llama. It stood watching and listening for awhile, then walked to the front of the pen and shot a big gob of spit that landed right on the face of the most obnoxious twit. We had a good snicker over that.
    If I ever kept livestock again, it would probably be alpaca for the fiber. I did a lot of spinning and dyeing at one time. I kind of miss working with various plant and animal fibers. Well who knows. Maybe I will again someday.

  2. Joan

    Llonely Illinois Llama

    A llama has a rather sheepish look
    Oh, wait. Perhaps a goat is what it took
    To produce this funny mammal
    Who looks somewhat like a camel
    Whose design somehow did not go by the book.

    Camels carry loads in very arid land.
    Sheep are good for food and wool and can be tanned
    You can always milk a goat.
    You can make a sheepskin coat.
    Here a llama skin is not in great demand.

    Well, perhaps it’s being bred to use the wool.
    But a coat from just one llama? Not too full.
    Time to breed? Almost a year.
    So as wintertime draws near
    A large coat might be a trick too hard to pull.

    I’ve been told alpaca wool is much preferred.
    Have no reason here to doubt that knitter’s word.
    And right here I must admit
    I do not know how to knit
    So it is to her opinion I’ve deferred.

    llama lovers please do not get all upset.
    I am puzzled, so I would be in your debt
    If you’d kindly tell me why
    You would really want to buy
    This fine critter lest you’d want him for a pet.

    While we’re at it. What is with that double L?
    He’s got one. He needs another one as well?
    Oh? It’s from his native country.
    I should not have put it bluntly.
    Who am I to tell the Spanish how to spell?

  3. bev

    Someone was busy today!
    Excellent, Joan!

  4. Joan

    Thank you both. But you know I still don’t know what the llone llama was doing there. Do they make good pets? He had a leash..so it does not sound like a big herd. I guess saying ‘why a llama?’ is like saying ‘why an Irish Setter’, huh?

  5. I suspect the two llamas are pets which help earn their keep from time to time by trimming hard-to-mow areas. Llama-owners I have talked with say that they are easily-tamed and affectionate, as well as helping to keep you nimble as you dodge spit!

  6. Joan

    http://www.houstonpettalk.com/pet_ownership/llamas-as-pets-what-you-need-to-know/
    I got on google before I read the new post. This was the first link I got to by typing in ‘llamas as pets.’ I didn’t catch that there were two of them. Though it was the same fellow pictured twice. Above is a link from a llama lover. They sound really sweet. I think I’d keep out of spitting distance, though. (grin)

Leave a Reply

