Cedar Stump Lichens

Wouldn’t that be a good name for a progressive acoustic band playing improvisations based upon natural scenes and old fiddle tunes? That’s a rhetorical question, by the way!

A couple of days ago I was stranded. My truck was in the driveway of a rural newspaper subscriber and my battery wasn’t wanting to take a charge. The subscriber, an elderly school-bus driver, was letting me use his charger, but the engine of the truck just wouldn’t fire off.

The bus-driver was getting antsy, as he had to leave to drive his bus, and I could tell that he felt a bit uneasy about leaving me there alone with access to his garage full of tools. He finally decided that he could trust me. After all, I come to his place every single day! He said, “Well, Larry, I’d better go tell the wife what’s goin’ on. Get your battery all charged, and I’ll see you later!”

He drove away in a minivan.

I was restless; time passes slowly when you are waiting on invisible electrical processes. I wandered around the side of the garage and found a cedar stump with its root system intact; it had probably washed out of a creek bank. The stump was in a pleasing phase of deterioration; if only people deteriorated so pleasantly when we die!

The lichens growing on the blocky rotting sapwood of the stump were pleasing to me and I shot some photos. Here are three of them:

In the past lichens of various species have been used to make fabric dyes. If I had my druthers (unlikely, but one can hope!) I’d wear clothing dyed with these shades, as they are singularly pleasing to my eye.

Larry

3 Comments

Filed under Photos, Plants, Quincy

3 responses to “Cedar Stump Lichens

  1. Joan

    These are gorgeous photos. I’d like to have a whole wall of these closeups. They all look like abstract paintings.

  2. bev

    I love the colors of lichens too. Most of the dying that I have seen was made with lichens from the arctic tundra. The colors are very soft and appealing – grays, lilac, soft yellows and pinks, mossy greens. They seem to go together so well as the tonal quality is similar regardless of the color.

Leave a Reply

