Spooky and Mysterious

I’ve always enjoyed paintings and illustrations which seem to imply dark and mystic depths, images which make you look twice as a shiver travels up your spine. John Tenniel, Maurice Sendak, and Sidney Sime are three illustrators who come to mind, and traveling back in time, Hieronymous Bosch and Pieter Brueghel the Elder certainly had that power to disturb and inspire my imagination.

Here are three more image-masters to add to the list.

Isabelle Cardinal is a Canadian graphics designer and illustrator who has produced some very nicely surreal images. This one is a depiction of a Tarot card in another world much like ours:

The next two are part of a series depicting the Seven Deadly Sins:

This last one of Isabelle’s is a dream or fairy tale scene, it seems. Will the scary cat find the little guy? This reminds me of Maurice Sendak’s work:

You can see more of Isabelle Cardinal’s work here:

Eyecreate

Just this morning I happened across the paintings of Alexander Jansson. I don’t know much about him, other than what can be gleaned from this page:

Mystical Illustrations

More weird fairy-tale illustrations! I liked this example of Alexander’s work:

I’d gladly play in such a band! It reminds me of the alien combo scene in the first Star Wars movie.

Last but not least, here are some witty and well-executed pastiches inspired by the paintings of Hieronymous Bosch. My friend and commenter Bev Wigney is responsible for these:

You can see more of Bev’s work here:

Crocodile Paintings

I’ll now let you return to the world of the mundane!

Larry

6 Comments

Filed under Visual Arts

6 responses to “Spooky and Mysterious

  1. Joan

    Jansson’s work reminds me of Tim Burton’s movies.
    Enjoyed what I saw of Bev’s hot pants but can’t see her other work without a password.

  2. bev

    Hi Joan – The password is ‘vgu’. I just have it set up that way as I didn’t want the google image bot harvesting the photos. They are for a small project I have been working on with a friend.

  3. Joan

    There is a Google Image bot? Could he find the one of the singing fungus?

  4. bev

    No doubt it can if it feels inclined! (-:

  5. Joan

    Bev, I just accessed the knickers blog. Just hilarious..and so very well executed. I absolutely love the Gauguin , Picasso, Rousseau and Munch ‘interpretations’ The colors are fabulous. I confess that had a ‘senior’ moment while looking at the Rousseau. I kept looking IN the painting for the pants. When I finally panned out..I realized the canvas WAS the pants. What a hoot! Now, I’m not gonna ask what the deer represented, but I’m glad it was not a snake. 🙂

  6. Joan

    Bev, Sorry…when I enlarged I found that the Picasso was a Matisse. One of his cool collages..even. Love it! I just did a quick look at the thumbnail and thought it resembled Picasso. Duh.

Leave a Reply

