A Triumph Of Human Ingenuity

I’m a child of the 1960s. In 1961 my mother called the school in Cedar Rapids, Iowa where I was in the second grade.

“Would it it be okay if Larry stayed home from school today? He really wants to watch the Alan Shepherd space launch on TV; it’s his birthday, too!”

“That would be fine, Mrs. Ayers — Larry would have to work at it to get behind here!”

During those years I kept a scrapbook of the space endeavors, NASA adventures which inflamed my sci-fi-primed imagination. Later, when I realized that my becoming an astronaut was very unlikely, my interest waned.

Last night I was talking with my father, and he said, “You really need to see the video NASA has released showing an animated depiction of the deployment of the Curiosity Mars machine!”

Pretty damned cool, I thought while I watched the Youtube video early this morning. It trumps the fantasy animations of Pixar! Take a look:

Of course the new rover may not work, as it is enormously complex. I’m rooting for it, though!

Larry

2 Comments

Filed under Science

2 responses to “A Triumph Of Human Ingenuity

  1. bev

    How neat, eh? I loved all things space when I was a kid. I was living in Toronto during the Alan Shepherd launch and watched it on tv at home. My dad was interested in all the space stuff too, probably because he was always working with mechanical engineering. He would have loved the Curiosity Mars machine.

  2. Leslie

    I learned of Alan Shepherd and the first astronauts from the movie “The Right Stuff”. When I watched this video, I failed to Read the fine print and for a brief while my jaw was dropping , wondering how in the heck
    Did they film all that? Amazing creativity…it does make me think of Pixar.

Leave a Reply

