Winter Miscellanea

Oh, I’m getting tired of winter already, and we really haven’t had that much snow yet. It’s supposed to get down to 12 degrees tonight. Early Saturday morning I’ll be out in the hinterlands delivering newspapers, hoping that I don’t have a flat tire.

This afternoon I was driving along a bumpy road, listening to an NPR classical music broadcast. During traversal of a wash-board stretch of gravel road, and while I was munching on a ginger snap, I couldn’t hear very clearly the female host as she introduced another piece of music. What I thought I heard was this:

“And now, here is Joshua Bell on first violin, playing Mozart’s Circus Concerto!”

I didn’t know what to make of this. Mozart went to the circus and was inspired to write a concerto after he got home?

As I listened to the piece I recognized it. It was really the Turkish Concerto, one of the very best of Mozart’s compositions. The mood changes from jubilation to pensiveness and back, much like in J.S. Bach’s Goldberg Variations. Have a listen to another rendition:

Of course there is a vast amount of remarkable music played by people outside of the European classical music tradition. I was just amazed by this guitar-playing by a woman from Botswana; this is music completely self-invented, using very effective techniques I’ve never seen before. I’ve played the guitar for many years, but never once thought of trying such things!

I enjoyed the woman’s self-invented music, but I also got a kick out of the guy in the background. He seemed so bored, as if he were thinking, “Oh, Mom, cut it out with the damned guitar already! Night and day — can’t you go somewhere else to practice!”

We’re currently, at least here in the USA, in the midst of the political Silly Season. What would Jesus say if he happened to catch one of Rick Perry’s currently-aired political TV ads? Maybe something like this:

Jesus Speaks Out

Well, enough for now. Stay tuned!

Larry

2 Comments

Filed under Essays and Articles

2 responses to “Winter Miscellanea

  1. Joan

    Thanks for the great Mozart interlude, the fascinating fingerwork of the lady from Botswana and the personal message from Jesus. You have brightened up my night.

  2. You are more than welcome, Joan!

Leave a Reply

