Quetzalcoatl

I’ve been watching the weather lately. I want to drive south, but a big storm system has been moving through the Southwest, and I try to be prudent. Best to wait a few days!

I was browsing various sites on the web this morning when I heard a weird hissing sound. I looked away from the computer monitor and saw this!

“Shit! Who or what are you?!”, I exclaimed.

The strange creature laughed.

“I am Quetzalcoatl, Larry! I’m surprised that you didn’t recognize me.”

“Well, now I do. So what’s up?”

“Oh, nothing much. It’s a bummer being an obsolete god consigned to oblivion. We never really die, but the more believers we have, the more vigor and power we have.”

“Yeah, I can imagine. I wonder if writers like Neil Gaiman might help?”

“Can’t hurt!”

The weird figure gradually faded away. An interesting encounter indeed!

Larry

1 Comment

Filed under Eos Stories, Essays and Articles

One response to “Quetzalcoatl

  1. bev

    Interesting idea about obsolete gods fading off due to lack of believers and power.

    Back at my place in Nova Scotia, I have a piece of jewelry – an oddly made copper necklace with a sort of amulet of an Aztec deity with claws tearing the heart from a human. Actually a rather weird and creepy piece. I received it as a gift, but never wear it.

Leave a Reply

