The Earth Mother Visits

I do need to get to bed and get some sleep! But a sound was keeping me awake, a sound like river water washing over stones. Then there was a haunting sound, and a female appearance formed before my startled eyes.

I said, “Who are you?!”

A woman appeared gradually before me. She was of medium height, had long dark hair, and was dressed in robes colored in mixed shades of green and brown. She said:

“I’m Mother Nature! I’m surprised that you don’t recognize me!”

“Well, we have never met directly. So why have you come for a visit, really not at a good time for me?”

“Oh, these time zone differences always get me confused! It’s a good time where I come from. I was just wanting to see what was up in the natural world in the Midwest. I thought you would be a good human to ask.”

“Oh, not good, MN! There ain’t much left of what was once here. A lot of intensive agriculture, though. Abundant production of edible animals for omnivores turned into carnivores!”

“Oh, that’s too bad. Perhaps I’ll have to cook up a virus to cause some mass illness! I can do that easily, as I really enjoy mutating viruses and bacteria.”

“Please, MN, keep whatever you concoct away from me!”

She smiled, and said, “Oh, I’ll protect you, Larry! Readers of Thoreau are given a special exemption, at least sometimes. He didn’t get one, I’m sorry to say.”

The goddess left from my kitchen door and ascended into the sky, her robes trailing behind her.

Leave a comment

Filed under Eos Stories

Leave a Reply

