What’s Going On Here?!

I expanded rapidly as I surged out of the computer case, from my lair next to the cozy power supply, and found Larry packing a suitcase.

“What are you doing, Larry? Are you leaving, or what?” I breathed a bit of fire, as that relieves anxiety for me. My eyes blazed green.

“Yeah, Demon,I’m taking a bus to Arizona tomorrow.”

“Why didn’t you tell me? Can I come along?”

“I certainly am not going to buy you a bus ticket! I don’t think the driver would let you on, anyway. They have rules about large winged reptiles riding buses. It alarms the other passengers and makes the kids cry. You can fly, after all!”

“But it’s so far away! All of the way across the Great Plains!”

“Just take your time. You can feed upon jackrabbits and armadillos along the way.”

I was feeling sulky and pouted.

“Well, okay…” I said, and retreated back into my lair. I spend most most of my time sleeping there.

Larry

9 Comments

Filed under Demon Posts

9 responses to “What’s Going On Here?!

  1. Leslie

    Hey Larry, I’m still chuckling over Dave Barry’s year end review and saw this. Good luck with your trip! Looks like you’ll have good weather. If you do see an armadillo, take a picture of it! As usual, I’m enjoying your blogs. Tell that bus driver to drive safely.

  2. Joan

    Have a safe trip, Larry. Don’t take any wooden nickles. Only Buffalo nickles. Mind the timing on those rest stops. They don’t count heads like Boy Scouts and I almost got left in the loo coming from Columbia to St. Louis.
    Take care of yourself, and that camera. Excited about possible armadillos.
    Spiders and snakes…maybe not so much. 🙂

  3. Don’t forget the scorpions, Joan! And I’ve never ever seen a wooden nickle…

    Thanks for the good wishes!

  4. bev

    Good reminder from Joan about the bus stops along the way. Some of those drivers seem to get a kick out of shedding the odd passenger! (-:
    Yeah, add scorpions to the list – you’re more likely to see one of those than a spider or snake! Looking forward to seeing the pics you shoot on your way southwest!

  5. Mark

    Hi Larry
    I must have missed something. Are you really going to AZ?

  6. Yeah, I’m taking a bus to Tucson (tomorrow, I hope) along with my winnowed-down essential possessions. I thought I’d give Bisbee a try. Quincy has little to offer me these days.

  7. Adrian

    Hopefully you are there safe by now! Give us a call when you get a chance, we’d love to hear from you.

  8. Pingback: flight of the dictionary demon | Riverside Rambles

Leave a Reply

